Uncategorized

50 Shades inspired Valentines nails

Hi all.

So the day of cheesy over the top romance is almost upon us again. When couples descend to pretty much every location ever created, red roses are bought in the dozens and over all cheesy romance is everywhere.

For the non coupled up ladies, the Valentine’s festivities are all pointing to one activity.

50 Shades Darker.

Mr Grey and his ‘kinky fuckery’ has hit the big screens once again and women in their masses are getting hot and bothered in every cinema across the land.

Due to a wonderful child free weekend, my husband and I went to see the film and I felt my nails could match the occasion.

Sadly, I don’t own any nail decorations that look like penis’s or bondage gear. However I do have the Born Pretty Lace plate BP-L045. The images are all different styles of lace. Perfect for sexy stockings or a pair of panties!

 

dscn1907
Barry M Gelly Hi Shine – Chai

I ended up with this sexy skittlette design. A little lace, some red roses and of course the obligatory love heart.

For the grey base I used Barry M Gelly Hi Shine in Chai. A wonderfully creamy grey which is a one coat wonder. As with almost all of Barry M’s products, the formula is great and it paints on really nicely. The perfect shade to pay homage to Mr Grey himself.

To create the look of flesh underneath the lace design I used another Barry M favourite of mine.

 

dscn1910
Barry M Coconut Infusion – Skinny Dip

The perfect nude colour for my skin tone!

To top that I used the Born Pretty lace plate BP-L045, MDU Black stamping polish and Bundle Monster monocle stamping set.

On my accent nail I used Barry M’s Boots Limited edition shade, Snowflake.

 

dscn1908
Barry M Boots LE -Snowflake

This needed 2 coats to create the solid opaque look. It also required a longer time to dry than the rest. I imagine this is due to the metallic consistency of the polish.

To achieve the perfect love heart I discovered a new technique. I wanted to investigate how easy it would be using a transparent water decal to colour in to create my own stickers.

The heart outline and the roses are all water decals from a company called Shop Keeki. I’ve had lots of her products for ages and not known how to use them. It’s a huge waste as some of the decals I have are beautiful. I aim to use them much more often and incorporate them into my designs regularly.

To fill in the love heart I used another Barry M shade and my go to Twinkled T nail art brush.

 

dscn1909
Barry M Gelly Hi Shine – Blood Orange

I was quite pleased with how easy painting the decal was. I wasn’t sure if it would work but I’m pleased to say it did. I did notice that once I added a layer of topcoat the red polish shrunk a little so there are some silver flecks from the base which are visible.

The rose decals were easy enough to cut to shape and place onto the nail. I did notice however that the images are a less than perfect. There are a few empty spots where the base is visible underneath. It could also be down to the top coat stretching the image. However I wasn’t as pleased with them overall.

 

 

I absolutely love the lace design. Although I originally created the design hoping to tune in the sexiness of lace, I actually really like the way it looks. It’s a very pretty design which could easily work painted onto all the nails.

 

 

 

So Happy Valentines Day to one and all. I hope your all romanced to within an inch of your lives and you get to spend it with your special person or that you end up getting drunk with a bunch of your single mates!

Thanks for reading!

Kat x

 

#barrym #nails

 

2 thoughts on “50 Shades inspired Valentines nails”

Leave a Reply

