Uncategorized

Christmas Celebrations nails

Hi all.

It’s finally here! Well almost here in the UK but other parts of the world are already fast asleep waiting for the arrival of the big man.

I know I’ve said it before but Christmas isn’t my favourite time of the year. I did manage quite a few Christmas themed designs this year but apart from one or two I’ve not really loved them. So I decided I would only do Christmas themed nails for the big day if they weren’t super cheesy red and green ones. Especially considering my epic love/hate affair with green anyway!

I had a think about what I planned to wear on the day and settled for one of my favourite looks, a classic LBD (Little Black Dress) so the colour scheme for my nails instantly became black and gold.

Trying to include some festive cheer without over dosing on the stuff was harder than I thought though! I wanted a classic Christmas image, something sophisticated rather than cheesy.

Here’s what I ended up with.

DSCN0158.JPG
Danglefoot Nail Polish – Higitus Figitus
Of course there’s a Danglefoot polish in there! It wouldn’t be right if there wasn’t!

So for the base on all my nails accept the accent I started with Higitus Figitus from Danglefoot Nail Polish. This is one my favourite polishes Hayley has ever made. A gorgeous true black holographic which paints on like a dream. The holo glitter gives it that edgier look. I know black isn’t really a festive colour but with the holo glitter how could I say no?

On my accent I used Barry M Foil Effects in Gold. This needed 2 coats. The formula of the polish requires pretty good application otherwise brush marks are visible even after clean up.

dscn0159
Barry M – Foil Effects Gold
I added a quick layer of HK Girl quick dry top coat to aid the base to dry quicker. To create the line details I used Twinkled T straight vinyl’s.

When using vinyl’s your base needs to be completely dry otherwise you run the risk of pulling the whole lot up when you peel the vinyl away.

For anyone who has no idea what a vinyl is in nail art terms its a strip of plastic cut to a shape which you can apply like a sticker to the nail directly or use as a guide when painting designs. For this look I used the straight vinyl’s to help keep my lines straight. I do find that unless you peel quickly after you paint, the polish can bleed. This causes your lines to look less straight and ruins the look. To sort this I just grabbed a brush and using the colour I needed just touched up the edges. To purchase any Twinkled T vinyl’s or their brushes (which is what I use!) click here.

To create the stag details I used Born Pretty stamping plate BPL-032 and MDU Black stamping polish.

I pondered whether I should stop there but I had an urge to decorate some more. I fancied one of my bejewelled accent nails.

Using a selection of studs from Born Pretty store and some nail glue from Sally’s Beauty I began to create the stacked jewel triangle next to my cuticle. I could have just kept adding gems to be honest as I am a secret magpie, but stopped before the whole nail was covered.

To view the studs I used please use these links:

http://www.bornprettystore.com/500pcs-15mm2mm3mm-mini-gold-silver-round-stud-rhinestone-nail-decoration-wbox-p-12411.html

http://www.bornprettystore.com/gold-silver-mixed-heart-square-star-stud-rhinestone-acrylic-nail-decor-p-5003.html

http://www.bornprettystore.com/bornpretty-crystal-rhinestones-acrylic-nail-p-2609.html

 

To finish the design off I used my favourite top coat, Glisten & Glow’s HK Girl topcoat.

 

dscn0161
Glisten & Glow – HK Girl

Overall I love how the design came out. It’s nothing like the Christmas mani’s I have seen floating around on social media, which is exactly what I wanted. I wanted a sophisticated grown up Christmas look which would look good with my LBD. This hits that nail right on the head.

 

So over the Christmas period I will be away visiting relatives and stuffing my face. No blogging or social media until at least next Tuesday. So with that in mind I will wish you all a Merry Christmas, Happy Boxing Day and a for the Grinch’s of the world; an average, quiet, peaceful Sunday.

Thanks for reading!

Kat x

To reach the Born Pretty Store website directly please use this link: http://www.bornprettystore.com/

Also to receive 10% off selected items use the code KLEX31 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

