Uncategorized

Barbie Inspired Snowflakes

Hi all.

Now I’m a Grinch. Of the highest order.

I don’t really like or enjoy the festive season. There are some minor parts I enjoy but the majority of it is too fake and cheery for my liking. If I could convince my 3 year old son to stay at home on the day we would just stay in pyjamas and eat here pretending it was like any other day. However its a mad dash around the M25, dragging our whole family (including the dog!) with us so people can see us and force us into the Christmas spirit.

Bah Humbug.

So not my style!

Because of this, I’ve hit a blank with creating Christmas themed nail art. I don’t enjoy it enough to want to wear it on my nails.

I’ve seen some fabulous designs but nothing has screamed out to be created. Then I had an idea. What would Barbie do? Add some killer pink and sparkles, chuck on her shades and stilettoes and fly to Aspen for the weekend.

So this is my Barbie inspired Christmas design.

 

dscn0123
Barry M Gelly Hi Shine – Sugar Plum

To create this I used a base of Sugar Plum from the Barry M Gelly Hi shine range. This needed one good coat. The formula is so thick and creamy it was easy to work with and applied really well. As always with Barry M’s the brush is shaped to aid in the one coat application.

On my accent nail I wanted a killer silver sparkle and for that I knew I had to use Danglefoot Cosmic Girl in the original formula.

 

dscn0125
Danglefoot Nail Polish – Cosmic Girl

Due to a change in suppliers Hayley has had to tweak the formula on this one. The newer version Cosmic Girl 0.2 was released in her big reopening and I managed to snag a bottle so I plan to do a comparison blog later on.

I have previously reviewed this polish but in short, the formula is spot on. Due to the glitter packed nature of the polish is dries to a slight texture but this does even out with top coat. The above image is with 2 coats.

Once the base had dried I selected the images I wanted to stamp. I wanted some elegant snowflakes and found the perfect images on the Uberchic Christmas stamping plates #01 and #02. To get the reflective silver effect I used Barry M Silver Foil nail polish.

 

dscn0124
Barry M – Silver Foil

On my accent nail I simply used the Sugar Plum colour again and an image that says ‘Let It Snow’ also from the Uberchic collection.

To finish the design off I added a layer of Glisten & Glow’s HK Girl Top coat.

I quite like how feminine this design looks. I’m not really a pink girly girl but this works in my opinion. The silver accent of Cosmic Girl gives it a glitzy edge making it a little less sweet.

Just enough of the pink to make me almost forget, it’s nearly Christmas!

Thanks for reading.

Kat x

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

