Uncategorized

Houndstooth and Gold design

Hi all!

My recent design using Houndstooth ( which you can view here ) became one of my favourite’s ever. I knew I had to recreate it again.

I loved how great the red looked against the Houndstooth so I decided to keep the base. However I had an urge to add a glittery gold accent nail.

Here is what I came up with.

 

DSCN0035.JPG
Barry M Coconut Infusion – Island Fever

 

Considering how much I loved the previous Houndstooth design, I actually love this one more! I think that the gold gives it a sophisticated seasonal look, which would be perfect for the coming Christmas period.

So for this design I had a base of Barry M Coconut Infusion in Island Fever on 2 fingers. I have previously reviewed this here.

On my pointer finger I added the gold glitter accent nail using Essie ‘Style It Up’

 

dscn0040
Essie – Style It Up.

For perfect coverage I used the sponge on method. This method can be messy so I would suggest using a barrier product around the nails edge to aid with clean up. I used Liquid Lea-Tex from Sparklea Nail Polish. Once the liquid latex had dried I painted on one thin layer of the glitter. This helps adhere the glitter when using the sponge on method. I then painted the glitter onto a small make up sponge. This allows the suspension base to soak into the sponge leaving only the glitter behind. Then when dabbed onto the nail, the glitter becomes more solid and packs together to create the fully opaque look. For this look I did need 3 coats including the base layer, but considering how small the glitter is this isn’t a bad attempt.

To finish the look I wanted to add some gold embellishments. I had the perfect gold studs for this.

 

dscn0041
Born Pretty Store Stud wheel

I purchased this stud wheel from Born Pretty Store for $2.99. There are so many different products from Born Pretty Store that I love and their studs are my go to. These apply easily and will last well if using nail glue. To purchase these studs please click here.

 

Overall I really do like this design. I now have a firm love for the Houndstooth print and will be using it again in other designs. It’s a great way to add some class to any manicure. Also the Barry M Coconut Infusion range is so amazing to work with. It makes any nail art super easy to achieve and for £3.99 a bottle its more than worth the cost.

Thanks for reading!

Kat x

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

