Uncategorized

#clairestelle8sep Stained Glass

Hi all,

The prompt for #clairestelle8sep 20th was stained glass. I managed to post my photo on Instagram on time but not my blog. I’m beginning to see a pattern here. I either forget or don’t get the time!

But, I’m here now.

Stained glass is an unusual design to try to create on your nails. There is a technique which I instantly leaned toward and this is the use of jelly polishes.

DSCN1551.JPG
O.P.I Color Paints

 

O.P.I released a collection a while ago which is perfect for a more translucent polish look. The Color Paints collection has a variety of shades which are translucent in consistency. The more translucent the polish the easier it is to create a stained glass effect. I’ve had the whole O.P.I Color Paints collection since they released and hadn’t really had a proper play with them so I fancied having a proper look.

Here is what I came up with,

 

RSCN1543.JPG
#clairestelle8sep Stained Glass

 

To create this super bright and vibrant design I started using the silver base polish from the collection. Using the silver polish as a base gives the coloured polishes a base colour to pop against. It makes the colours more vibrant and does help give the polish a more glass shine effect.

dscn1547
O.P.I Color Paints Silver base polish

 

Once the silver base coat had dried I then found a stamping image I wanted. Luckily I found one which I felt looked a little like a stained glass window. This is from Uberchic beauty, on plate 1-02. To get the perfect crisp lines on the stamp I used MDU black stamping polish.

dscn1562
MDU Black Stamping Polish

 

Then using a nail art brush from Twinkled T I began to fill in the details on the design. The yellow seems to pop the best, but I imagine this is due to the brightness of the shade.

It is a time consuming technique but quite satisfying. I loved watching the design come to life. It really does create a translucent glass effect. It’s not my usual design but I do really like it.

To recreate it, I would suggest you need a good few hours and patience. Take your time, don’t rush otherwise the colours will bleed through and ruin each other.

 

Only 2 more prompts left for the challenge now, so fingers crossed I can stay with it to the end.

Thanks for reading

Kat x

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

