Uncategorized

Game of Thrones dragon scale design

Hi all.

So for anyone that doesn’t already know I’m a big Game of Thrones fan. My husband and I have watched every season and loved it. We both have our favourite characters but mine has always been Daenerys Targaryen. The petite platinum blonde Mother of Dragons has always been my woman crush. I mean, she has 3 pet dragons and is a queen of epic proportions. What’s not to love?

So after what feels like years without it, Game of Thrones season 6 returns to our screens tonight here in the UK. I decided to create a manicure themed around my love for Daenerys and her dragons.

This is the result!

DSCN0927
Holding my POP! Vinyl of the Mother of Dragons

Daenerys Targaryen has 3 dragons, all of which differ slightly in colour.

Drogon, named after her late husband Khal Drogo, is black and red

Viserion, named after her psychotic dead brother Viserys, is cream, gold and red

Rhaegal, named after her less psychotic brother Rhaegar, is green, bronze and yellow.

For my design I used colours and elements from each to create my dragon scales.

To start I used OPI The Lady in Black as a base on all my nails.

DSCN0918
OPI Lady in Black

It goes on a little thin unless the bottle has been well shaken but once I shook it, it is easily a one coater. It dries really shiny even without topcoat. However, considering it cost £11 I was sadly not as impressed as I’d hoped to be. Its almost the same as some of the drugstore brands I have so not worth the £11 price tag!

Once this was dry I used my Whats Up Nails mermaid vinyl’s to create the scaled look.

I’ve had these vinyl’s around 2 years. I have since bought lots of different styles of the scale vinyl’s from other places, mostly Twinked T. Sadly, even though I had stored these ones in a dark dry place away from heat; they have begun to lose their stick and I struggled to get a clean crisp line like I would with other products.

Once I had snipped and cut the vinyl’s into a useable shape I painted Barry M’s Caspian from the Aquarium range, over the top. There were a few places I had to touch up to get the clean lines I wanted, mostly at the tip of my nails. To do this I just used my Kolinsky Nail Art brush #09, also from Whats Up Nails, to add the lines I needed.

DSCN0923
Barry M’s Caspian from the Aquarium range

 

To clean up any mistakes I used my new and beloved clean up brush from Twinked T. Full review and photos of this in action will be up soon!

To finish it all off I topped it all with the one and only Glisten & Glow HK Girl Topcoat and to this I added small gold and black studs and bronze and gold caviar beads.

DSCN0924
Glisten & Glow HK Girl Topcoat

The end result is a colour shifting gold to bronze scaled design which I love. I have had lots of compliments about the design and I do really like it.

So that’s it, my Game of Thrones dragon inspired design.

Roll on 9pm tonight for the UK premier! Get your popcorn, dim the lights and no one say a word. The Mother of Dragons returns!

Thanks for reading

Kat x

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

