Uncategorized

When Colours Collide Challange: Yellow and Grey

Hi Everyone.

I recently discovered a Facebook group who set bi weekly challenges based on a colour theme. I only found it because an account I follow was taking part and she suggested I join.

There have been 3 challenges that I’ve taken part in so far.

This month’s colour prompt was Yellow and Grey.

Its an unusual colour choice and I imagine a few people where thinking ‘What weird colours to mix!’ but that’s the whole idea of the challenge. To use and mix colours in nail art designs that you wouldn’t normally use or even like.

As soon as I saw the colours for this month I knew exactly what I wanted to do.

When I think yellow and grey I think Cher Horowitz from the movie Clueless. In the movie, on her first day of high school she wears this amazing yellow and grey plaid 2 piece suit with knee high socks. All the 90’s kids know exactly what outfit I’m talking about.

clueless
Dionne and Cher

 

Of course I had to recreate that pattern on my nails!

DSCN0586.JPG
Bottle Shot of Nails Inc, Seven Dials

 

 

 

To start off I used Nails Inc in Seven Dials to paint the yellow base colour. I did find that even with 2 coats it wasn’t perfect coverage.

Normally I would then use a quick dry top coat so I can crack on with the next stage and not ruin the base polish; but for this design I left my nails almost all day to dry and settle.

To create the plaid design on top I used Barry M Gelly Hi Shine in Cotton, Essence Cosmetics #53 Rock My World and OPI in Push and Shove. Using my favourite nail brush from Twinkled T, The Kolinsky #9 I started by drawing a thick white cross in the bottom left corner of my nails. Once dried I used the Essence grey polish to outline the white and draw a thin line through the center of the cross. To finish the plaid design I made another cross pattern using the OPI silver in the opposite corner. Once dry I topped it all with CND Weekly Top Coat.

DSCN0588
Bottle shot of Essence #53 Rock My World

They have turned out to be one of my favourite nail designs I ‘ve done so far!

I submitted my design and received so much love from the other women all saying how lovely they turned out.

Obviously Cher Horowitz would think they are ‘Totally Fabulous!’

At the end of the challenge the admins of the group always make a cute collage picture to show all the designs that were entered. This month there were 72 entries!

yellow and grey.jpg
Find my design on the top row, 7th from the left!

 

 

There are clearly some very talented ladies out there!

So that’s it, my When Colours Collide Yellow and Grey nail art.

As always, thanks for reading!

Kat x

 

For anyone interested in joining the When Colours Collide Challenge group please use this link:

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1548829178714650/?fref=ts

Leave a Reply

